The Hunt for Homeostasis

Spring semester is finally here! Hooray!

I can remember a time when I HATED school. Completely, absolutely, totally hated school. I failed classes, ditched classes, had no interest in learning anything. I look back at that girl and want to smack her silly. Perhaps it is because I now see the value of a good education, perhaps it’s because I know what I want to study and learn about, whatever reason,  my desire to learn has grown exponentially that I can’t even believe I used to be that girl.

How could one not be curious about stuff? With each class, and each day that I grow closer to graduating, I appreciate the impressive web of knowledge that surrounds us, and the intricate balance that knowledge has. Each new idea spawns more thoughts that led to Google searches, trips to the library, watching Youtube videos, reading blogs and having discussions with people. Then the whole process begins anew.  The classes I have this semester continue to weave greater and greater webs in my network of questions, curiosities and skepticism’s. My Rec class is a law class, of legal issues in sports, recreation and leisure studies. I am now educated on who my US Congressmen (woman) are, who my Congressional Representatives are for the districts I work, live and play in, and am enjoying learning about the law. My Kinesiology class is a sociology class examining how Sport and Culture are interwoven and the effects on our belief systems. Pretty damn cool. Plus, the class has only 8 students in it,and the prof has a groovy “facilitation’ style of leading the class. It’s so great not being lectured at for once! The last class has hit a HUGE button with me, and has led me down the rabbit hole once more.

Interpersonal Communication, conflict/resolution, negotiation…. you mean there is a WHOLE department that studies this? That you can take 4 years of material in this stuff?!!! ARRGGG.!!! The hunt for knowledge begins….

I found myself completely enamored with the knowledge base of my classmates in my Comm class. They had been in the same program for a while, and essentially spoke a whole other language ( and I get it, ‘cuz us  Kinesiology people don’t speak an odd language at all * smirk*)  My over analytical, research oriented, totally hyper-focused self fought the urge to spend weeks in the library attempting to absorb as much info as I could regarding this world. Twitter feeds, you are an ADHD students best friend! Feeds on Communication, Kinesiology, Recreation, Photography, Sports, Aquatics, Food, Drink, Nightlife…. it keeps rolling in and my questions answered.

The impressive speed in which we access information and the ease to which we gain it can cause ones head to spin around faster than Blair and her green pea soup. For me, it can’t come fast enough, nor are there enough hours in the day to look up “stuff”. I find myself so absorbed in the Internet and looking for answers to the stream of questions my brain produces that life can easily become unbalanced.  Quite often, my husband yells ” Intervention!”, to reminds me to ” put the crack down” and return to the real world.

Since the beginning of the Spring semester, that motto has become my mantra. I have vowed to find balance to what easily becomes a very skewed existence. Like Lady Justice, my desire for balance has been already fraught with obstacles and obsession. Too much studying, too much working out, too much eating, too much driving, too much reading, too MUCH!!!!  As a complex organic system, physiology seeks to operate in homeostasis. My chaotic world of the first 2 weeks of the semester is akin to a flu virus ripping through my body, creating havoc in its wake. I am grasping to find the balance of new classes, new knowledge, new routines, new boundaries, new expectations, new ideas,  and new outlooks. Last semester, I felt human again after about 4 weeks. This semester, the chaos hasn’t taken so long to calm down, because  I, finally after two weeks, am feeling like balance in my life,  is being restored.

Of course, it’s Super Bowl Sunday.  With all the food and drinks I am about to throw into my system, I  don’t think it will be too long before my liver and stomach scream INTERVENTION!!!

One thought on “The Hunt for Homeostasis

Leave a Reply

