Alien Life Forms Unite!

Week three is now in the history books, and I can officially say I feel like a grad student. I am loving the environment of school, the learning,the classroom camaraderie, the homework! 

imageAdditionally, it is was a new direction, other than just working. Upon telling my girlfriend (& co-worker) that I was going to work less to spend more time focusing on my masters degree, she looked at me and frankly said; “I think that’s a great idea, go back to where you belong! You need to be you, with other yous, in your world, who speak your language.”  She was right.  For the last few years, I haven’t felt quite at home in my workplace. I didn’t mind the unofficial title as the “brain”, but my passion for my field left me feeling alienated,with no one to talk to.  I was always getting excited over ideas, or about the latest research study, or the most recent finding in an academic journal that pertained to our industry. I was always talking about how to improve our teaching methodology from a motor learning perspective, or look for ways to improve our curriculum from the latest studies and research. So, hence, now that I am back with other “me’s”, it’s been fun spending time with them and sharing ideas with other people who are just as excited about the same things I am. Yes, we do speak each other’s language. “Na-Nu, Na-Nu.”

That being said, my professor recently assigned a project that would require copious amounts of time browsing search engines such as EBSCOHost, PubMed, MedLine, ERIC, and a whole bunch of others. I laughed at the assignment, only because I do that in my spare time. Did I mention I am from another planet.  No really, for me, hyperfocusing on the latest publications from sports & recreation journals is something I truly enjoy doing.

image

 So while everyone is grumbling and procrastinating, I am happily camped out in the middle of the floor, in the basement of the library. Speaking of libraries, I think everyone should spend more at  libraries. Rows and rows of books, magazines, journals, microfiche, maps. To some, it can be an alien landscape. It blows me away that there is so much information to be had, about everything, and there are these amazing people called Librarians who have the superpowers to organize allof it. My ADHD brain can barely organize my shopping list for the week!

image

So, I was driving home from the end of week three when my girlfriend called to see how I was doing. I told  her about my assignment, and that I had spent the week sitting in the basement of the library, patiently scanning and reading hundreds of journals, searching for those perfect articles that will fulfill the requirements of the assignment. She laughed and said “‘Yup, right up your alley! Sounds like you were right at home”.  I laughed, glanced in my rear-view mirror at sight of the library as it  grew smaller and smaller, and thought; “Na-Nu, Na-Nu”.

    Go Beach!

4 thoughts on “Alien Life Forms Unite!

  1. Pingback: Small Joys, Big Impacts « Beach Time

  2. I know exactly how you feel! Grad school, the end of what used to be a really fun, youthful life, replaced by watching your friends get dressed for new clubs, psychinfo, ebscohost and the like. Thanks for stopping by!!

    I’m CSULB alum too!

  3. Hey! This post could not be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this page to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

  4. Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the info you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, wonderful site!

Leave a Reply

